Welcome to Night Vale: 70B - Review
June 15, 2015 10:38 AM - Subscribe

A review of opening night at the new Old Night Vale Opera House. You probably will want to listen to 70A first before this one.

Weather: "Align" by Aby Wolf (abywolf.bandcamp.com).
Music: Disparition, disparition.info.
Logo: Rob Wilson, robwilsonwork.com.
Produced by Commonplace Books. Written by Joseph Fink & Jeffrey Cranor. Narrated by Cecil Baldwin. More Info: welcometonightvale.com, and follow @NightValeRadio on Twitter or Facebook.
posted by jenfullmoon (14 comments total) 2 users marked this as a favorite
 
Ah, never mind, and WHEW!
posted by jenfullmoon at 11:09 AM on June 15, 2015


I think I'm going to have to listen to 70A again and reevaluate that with this new information.

Also, yay!
posted by ckape at 11:53 AM on June 15, 2015


I never would have guessed Violet and I love it.

"Things would be different if it were up to me! Things are always different when it is up to me!"
posted by chainsofreedom at 12:46 PM on June 15, 2015 [2 favorites]


Transcript

Yay, Carlos! Yay, Dana! Yay, Night Vale!
posted by Shmuel510 at 12:52 PM on June 15, 2015 [1 favorite]


potato
posted by DevilsAdvocate at 4:06 PM on June 15, 2015 [2 favorites]


Fun fact: I didn't listen all the way to the proverb (also skipped the weather) because I was running out of time before I had to be in my seat at work, so it took me a long time to figure out why everyone keeps saying potato.

Potato.
posted by chainsofreedom at 5:27 PM on June 15, 2015 [1 favorite]


Go Violet! Too bad you're attached to four other bozos. Also, good one, show!
posted by jenfullmoon at 7:02 PM on June 15, 2015


Whew!

Also: potato.
posted by marginaliana at 1:54 PM on June 16, 2015


I have to say at the beginning of this (half-)episodeI was ready for Carlos and Cecil to break up just because I'd gotten so tired of the "relationship troubles" plotline (however realistic it was on a real world scale), but the last third brought me right back to the feeeeels.

I do like what they've done with Cecil over the past year, very slowly and gradually pushing the bounds of what started as an entertaining but seemingly static character -- he even said Steve's name twice without snarling this time!
posted by bettafish at 3:01 PM on June 16, 2015 [1 favorite]


Oh, and another thing -- who else thinks that instead of creating New Desert Bluffs Kevin has created Original Desert Bluffs?
posted by bettafish at 4:50 PM on June 16, 2015 [4 favorites]


Oh, and another thing -- who else thinks that instead of creating New Desert Bluffs Kevin has created Original Desert Bluffs?

*raises hand*
posted by chainsofreedom at 5:43 PM on June 16, 2015 [3 favorites]


Totally.

(Also, potato.)
posted by Shmuel510 at 6:42 PM on June 16, 2015


What would be more surprising is if that weren't the case, given the general weirdness of the world of WtNV
posted by DoctorFedora at 11:06 PM on June 16, 2015


I was fairly confident that this was going to end the way that it did, and somehow the big reveal caught me off guard anyway, and this silly podcast had me crying like a sloppy idiot as I drove home last night.

This might be my favorite "Big Plot Event" episode that WTNV has done. The past-tense narration worked really well -- I'm not sure we've ever heard Cecil tell a story like this (in the past-tense) at such great length. The scenes in the Opera House and Limo were set up perfectly; this is probably the closest that I've "connected" with Cecil as a character.
Carlos held my shoulder and said, “Night Vale is just a name, Cecil. Night Vale is just the name for an area where everyone you love lives,” he said. “Don’t worry about the name. Worry about the everyone,” he said.
I'm glad I was wrong about Carlos.

Keeping score, there are still some unanswered questions:
* Who *sold* Lot 37 in the first place?
* Time is broken and/or looping (a la 100 Years of Solitude). Kevin likely reset or forked the Desert Bluffs timeline. Josie ages, but Cecil doesn't. Earl Harlan is the only one who notices any of this.
* We still don't know much about the man in the tan jacket (Sounds like we'll find out in the book!)
* Did anybody else get the impression that something's up with Dana?
* Kevin is still out there.
* Happy Birthday Lee Marvin!
posted by schmod at 6:50 AM on June 22, 2015 [3 favorites]


« Older Podcast: Welcome to Night Vale...   |  Movie: Starship Troopers... Newer »

You are not logged in, either login or create an account to post comments